Committee Members

Chair

Benny  Lo
Imperial College
UK
benny.lo@imperial.ac.uk
http://vip.doc.ic.ac.uk/benlo/m778.html

Members


Carmen PoonCarmen Poon

Past Chair
Research Assistant Professor
Department of Surgery
The Chinese University of Hong Kong
cpoon@surgery.cuhk.edu.hk
www.hkmisc.org.hk


Walter G. BesioWalter G. Besio

Professor
Electrical, Computer, & Biomedical Engineering
University of Rhode Island
4 East Alumni Ave.
Kingston, RI 02881
USA
401-874-4738
besio@uri.edu
http://egr.uri.edu/neurorehabilitationlab/


 Marco Di RienzoMarco Di Rienzo

Research Co-ordinator,
Cardiorespiratory, Wearable Sensors and Telemedicine Areas
Polo Tecnologico
IRCCS Fondazione Don Carlo Gnocchi
Italy
mdirienzo@DONGNOCCHI.IT


Pelagia-Irene (Perena) GoumaPelagia-Irene (Perena) Gouma

Director, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Center for Nanomaterials and Sensor Development
SUNY at Stony Brook
USA
Phone: Office: (631) 632 4537; Lab. : (631) 632 8497
pelagia-irene.gouma@stonybrook.edu
https://web.stonybrook.edu/cnsd/


Emil JovanovEmil Jovanov

Associate Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Director of Real-Time Physiological Monitoring Laboratory
The University of Alabama in Huntsville
USA
emil.jovanov@uah.edu
www.ece.uah.edu/~jovanov


Aimé Lay-EkuakilleAimé Lay-Ekuakille

Regional Representative (Region 8)
Department of Innovation Engineering
University of Salento Via Monteroni,
Ed. “Corpo O” 73100 Lecce
Italy
Tel. +(39) 0832.297822
Fax +(39) 0832.297827
aime.lay.ekuakille@unisalento.it
http://smaasis-misure.unile.it


Steffen LeonhardtSteffen Leonhardt

Awards Subcommittee Chair
Chair for Medical Information Technology
Helmholtz Institute for Biomedical Engineering
RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany
Tel: +49 (241) 80 23211
FAX: +49 (241) 80 82442
leonhardt (at) hia.rwth-aachen.de
www.medit.hia.rwth-aachen.de


Nigel LovellNigel Lovell

EMBS President (2018-18)
Scientia Professor
Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering
University of New South Wales
UNSW Sydney NSW 2052 Australia
Ph: +61-2-93853922; FAX: +61-2-96632108
N.Lovell@unsw.edu.au
https://research.unsw.edu.au/people/scientia-professor-nigel-lovell


Edward SazonovEdward Sazonov

Regional Representative (Region 1-6)
Professor
Electrical and Computer Engineering
University of Alabama
USA
esazonov@ieee.org
http://claws.eng.ua.edu


Fernando Seoane MartinezFernando Seoane Martinez

Docent Professor
Department of Textile Technology
University of Borås
Sweden
fernando.seoane_martinez@hb.se
http://www.hb.se/en/Research/Research-Portal/Researchers/Seoane-Martinez-Fernando/


Jie LianJie Lian

Co-Founder and Biomedical Research Lead,
Ultra Inc., U.S.A
email_lian@yahoo.com
https://www.linkedin.com/pub/jie-lian/31/b93/20b


Jin-Woo Choi

Awards Subcommittee Member
Louisiana State University
USA
choijw@lsu.edu
http://www.ece.lsu.edu/choi/


https://www.eecs.utk.edu/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/Wu_EECS-210x300.jpgJie Wu

Nominations and Elections Subcommittee Chair
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
USA
jaynewu@utk.edu
https://www.eecs.utk.edu/people/faculty/jwu10/


Wie ChenWie Chen

Regional Representative (Region 10)
Professor and Director of Center for Intelligent Medical Electronics
Fudan University, China
w_chen@fudan.edu.cn


Andrew DehennisAndrew Dehennis
Sensionics
USA
adehennis@live.com
https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=P1pH1J0AAAAJ&hl=en


Giancarlo FortinoGiancarlo Fortino

Professor of Computer Engineering
DIMES – Department of Informatics, Modeling, Electronics and Systems
University of Calabria, Italy
giancarlo.fortino@unical.it
http://si.deis.unical.it/fortino/


https://www.egr.msu.edu/mems/sites/default/files/content/li.jpgWen Li

Michigan State University
USA
wenli@egr.msu.edu
http://www.egr.msu.edu/~wenli/


https://www.sfu.ca/content/sfu/mechatronics/people/faculty/edward_park/jcr:content/main_content/image.img.2000.high.jpg/1314047100729.JPGEdward Park

Regional Representative (Region 7)
Associate Dean, Faculty of Applied Sciences
Professor School of Mechatronic Systems Engineering
Simon Fraser University, B.C, Canada
ed_park@sfu.ca
https://www.sfu.ca/mechatronics/people/faculty/edward_park.html


PalmerJeffrey Palmer

Bioengineering Systems & Technologies Group, MIT Lincoln Laboratory
USA
jspalmer@ll.mit.edu


...Octavian Postolache

Portugal
opostolache@lx.it.pt
https://www.it.pt/Members/Index/474


Peter ShullPeter Shull

Webmaster Subcommittee Chair
Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering
Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
http://www.wearablesystems.org/


http://me.sites.mtu.edu/sun/wp-content/uploads/sites/19/2015/10/image110259-pers.jpgYe (Sarah) Sun
Michigan Technological University
YES@mtu.edu
http://me.sites.mtu.edu/sun/


Brian A. Telfer

MIT Lincoln Laboratory
telfer@ll.mit.edu


Zhiqiang ZhangZhiqiang Zhang

Newsletter Subcommittee Chair
University of Leeds
z.zhang3@leeds.ac.uk
http://www.personal.leeds.ac.uk/~eenzzh/


Roozbeh JafariRoozbeh Jafari

Associate Professor
Biomedical Engineering
Computer Science and Engineering
Electrical and Computer Engineering
Texas A&M University
USA
College Station, TX 77843-3120, e-mail: rjafari@tamu.edu
http://jafari.tamu.edu


Karl FriedlKarl Friedl

Industry/Tech Transfer/Government Subcommittee Chair
Professor
UCSF School of Medicine, USA
friedlke@gmail.com
http://profiles.ucsf.edu/karl.friedl


Oliver AmftOliver Amft

Professor and Chair of eHealth and mHealth
Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
oliver.amft@fau.de
https://www.emh.med.fau.de/index.php/person/prof-dr-sc-oliver-amft/

Login

New Here? Sign Up

Looking for increased exposure in the field of biomedical engineering? EMBS offers journals, conferences and a community for biomedical engineers. Membership includes PULSE Magazine.

Join EMBS